Dissipative Phases of Entangled Quantum Matter

Workshop, May 3rd - 5th 2021

Driven-dissipative quantum many body systems constitute a cross- disciplinary frontier of research encompassing condensed matter, AMO and solid state physics. Many-particle systems where quantum coherent dynamics and dissipative effects occur on the same footing, find experimental realization in cavity QED, driven open Rydberg systems, trapped ions, exciton-polariton condensates, coupled micro- cavity arrays — among the others.
These platforms offer the unique opportunity to explore extensive phases of matter which cannot be encompassed through conventional statistical mechanics. At the same time they pose a number of fundamental and technical challenges. The ubiquitous intrusive effect of dissipation in experiments, confronts researchers to optimize and enhance the role of quantum fluctuations in strongly noisy and decoherent environments. At the same time, an efficient simulation of open many-particle systems require a formidable combination of techniques and expertise ranging from advanced field theoretical methods to forefront numerical techniques, from machine learning to non-unitary versions of techniques from the field of strongly correlated systems.
These 3-days workshop will bring together a number of experts from a diverse and interdisciplinary set of fields, including condensed matter physics, cold atoms, quantum engineering, quantum optics, atomic and solid state physics, with a broad selection of experimentalists from currently active fields. Ample space will be devoted to the participation of emergent and promising young scholars with dedicated flash talks in a 'March Meeting' format. Furthermore, the workshop will host two topical sessions to foster dialogue among researchers belonging to different sub-communities.


Jamir Marino, Mainz
Joel Moore, Berkeley
Gil Refael, Caltech
Ferdinand Schmidt-Kaler, Mainz

Invited Speakers

Ehud Altman, Berkeley
Berislav Buca, Oxford
Giuseppe Carleo, EPFL
Iacopo Carusotto, INO-CNR BEC
Aashish Clerk, Chicago
Ramasubramanian Chitra, ETH Zürich
Eugene Demler, Harvard
Sebastian Diehl, Köln
Tobias Donner, ETH Zürich
Martin Eckstein, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg
Rosario Fazio, ICTP
Michael Fleischhauer, University Kaiserslautern
Steve Girvin, Yale University
Alexey Gorshkov, University of Maryland
Jonathan Keeling, University of St. Andrews
Alicia Kollár, University of Maryland
Zala Lenarčič, Jozef Stefan Institute
Ben Lev, Stanford University
Mikhail Lukin, Harvard
Katarzyna Macieszczak, Cambridge
Giovanna Morigi, Saarland University
Prineha Narang, Harvard
Francesco Piazza, MPIPKS
Ulrich Poschinger, Mainz
Achim Rosch, Köln
Kushal Seetharam, MIT
Walter Strunz, TU Dresden
Yaroslav Tserkovnyak, UCLA
Silvia Viola Kusminskiy, MPI Erlangen
David Weld, UC Santa Barbara
Artur Widera, TU Kaiserslautern