Non-equilibrium Quantum Materials Design

Workshop, June 27th - 29th 2023

Quantum materials driven out of equilibrium by strong electric fields exhibit phenomena that challenge our physical understanding of solids and could be implemented in future device technologies. Examples include photo- and current-induced transitions to metastable hidden phases, the ultrafast optical manipulation of ferroelectricity and magnetism, light-induced superconductivity, and the creation of photon-dressed topological states. While much progress has been made in characterizing these effects, turning them into real-world functionalities requires stabilizing them at high temperature, on long time scales, and with minimal input power. These challenges are inherently of a materials nature. The focus of this workshop is to bring together experts in quantum materials synthesis (single crystals, thin films, vdW heterostructures) with experimentalists and theorists investigating non-equilibrium phenomena to spark a new generation of non-equilibrium quantum materials design – that is, to create quantum materials that are specifically designed for their out-of-equilibrium response to optical and electrical perturbations. The long-term goal is to create a feedback loop between materials synthesis, experimental characterization and theory for non-equilibrium physics, similar to the successful strategies employed in equilibrium quantum materials design.

This workshop is organized by SPICE as part of the Gutenberg International Conference Center (GICC) at Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (JGU). The GICC is funded through the German Research Foundation’s (DFG) university allowance in the Excellence Strategy program and aims at fostering JGU as a national and international research hub. By organizing regular conferences and workshops in fields of excellent JGU research, the GICC provides a platform to build interest networks and collaborations – to promote exchange and dialog among academics and research groups from all over the world.

Ankit Disa, Cornell University
James McIver, Columbia University/MPSD Hamburg

Invited Speakers

Richard Averitt, UC San Diego
Nicole A. Benedek, Cornell University
Alexey Berdyugin, NUS
Andrea Caviglia, University of Geneva
Jiun-Haw Chu, University of Washington
Martin Claassen, University of Pennsylvania
Martin Eckstein, FAU
Daniele Fausti, FAU
Claudia Felser, MPI CPfS
Wanzheng Hu, Boston University
Harold Y. Hwang, Stanford
Atac Imamoglu, ETH Zurich
Dieter Jaksch, University of Oxford
Marios Michael, MPSD Hamburg
Andrew J. Millis, Columbia University
Carsten Putzke, MPSD Hamburg
Angel Rubio, MPSD Hamburg
Justin Song, Nanyang Technological University
Susanne Stemmer, UC Santa Barbara
Igor Vaskivskyi, Jozef Stefan Institute
Suyang Xu, Harvard
Liuyan Zhao, University of Michigan