Altermagnetism: Emerging Opportunities in a New Magnetic Phase

Workshop, May 9th - 11th 2023



This workshop focuses on the emerging magnetic material class of altermagnets. This recently discovered magnetic phase is separate from the ferromagnetic and antiferromagnetic phases that we are used to. The new altermagnetic class shows compensated magnetic ordering and alternating spin-polarization in both the direct and momentum space, with a d-wave (or higher even-parity wave) symmetry.  Altermagnets span a large range of materials from insulators to superconductors, and exhibit properties characteristic of ferromagnetism, antiferromagnetism, and other unique properties that neither of the two previously known classes have.

The novel properties of altermagnets have links to many fields of research, such as spintronics, ultra-fast photo-magnetism, neuromorphics, multiferroics, magnonics, topological matter, or superconductivity. The workshop brings together junior and senior scientists from diverse research fields to explore this fascinating newly discovered magnetic phase.

This workshop is organized by SPICE as part of the Gutenberg International Conference Center (GICC) at Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (JGU). The GICC is funded through the German Research Foundation’s (DFG) university allowance in the Excellence Strategy program and aims at fostering JGU as a national and international research hub. By organizing regular conferences and workshops in fields of excellent JGU research, the GICC provides a platform to build interest networks and collaborations – to promote exchange and dialog among academics and research groups from all over the world.



Helen Gomonay, JGU
Tomas Jungwirth, Czech Academy of Sciences
Aleksei V. Kimel, Radboud Univ.
Jairo Sinova, JGU
Libor Šmejkal, JGU

Invited Speakers

Sayantika Bhowal, ETH Zurich
Stefan Blügel, Julich Zentrum
Arnab Bose, JGU/Cornell Univ.
Davide Bossini, Univ. of Konstanz
Sang-Wook Cheong, The Rutgers Univ.
Hans-Joachim Elmers, JGU
Edgar Felipe Galindez Ruales, JGU
Nirmal Ghimire, George Mason Univ.
Sebastian Goennenwein, Univ. of Konstanz
Shutaro Karube, Kyoto Univ.
Aleksei V. Kimel, Radboud Univ.
Dominik Kriegner, Czech Academy of Sciences
Qihang Liu, SUSTech
Andrew P. Mackenzie, MPI Dresden
Igor Mazin, George Mason Univ.
Paul McClarty, MPI Dresden
Johan Mentink, Radboud Univ.
Yuriy Mokrousov, Julich Zentrum
Helena Reichlova, Czech Academy of Sciences
Libor Šmejkal, JGU
Cheng Song, Tsinghua
Peter Wadley, Univ. of Nottingham