Young Research Leaders Group Workshop: Insulator spintronics – strong-coupling, coherence and entanglement

Mainz, Germany: July 31st – August 4th 2017

Magnetic insulators are extremely versatile materials. They’re used for fundamental research into magnetism and in real world devices. They have become a vital tool across many research disciplines to the extent that they are now micro-scale laboratories in their own right. The lack of charge currents in these materials allows for a very controlled environment where pure spin currents can flow and single magnons can be excited. However, nature is not so kind and the majority of magnetic insulators are a complex class of materials with many complications which must be understood.

One of the most remarkable aspects of magnetic insulator research is that people have been interested in it for more than six decades. But new ground is being broken with the advent of simple ways to couple to the magnetic system, such as strong coupling of magnon-polaritons and electrical coupling via spin-orbit interactions with metallic contacts. This has allowed phenomenon such as spin Seebeck effect and the coherent coupling between a ferromagnetic magnon and a superconducting qubit to be observed for the first time. There are many effects which have been proposed but are yet to be observed, for example spin-superfluidity. The race is on to use this versatile class of materials to make new discoveries.

This SPICE Young Research Leaders Workshop aims to bring together young scientific leaders who are interested in how magnetic insulators can be used to push the frontier of our understanding of basic science as well as technological frontiers such as spintronics and quantum computing. Specifically, this workshop will bring together researchers from the fields of insulator spintronics, magnon-polaritons and quantum magnetism to exchange ideas and discuss new ways in which magnetic insulators can be applied to fundamental research and applications.


Joseph Barker (Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University, Japan)
So Takei (Queens College of the City University of New York, USA)
Yunshan Cao (University of Electronic Science and Technology of China)

Confirmed Speakers

Joseph Barker (Tohoku University)
Scott Bender (Utrecht)
Davide Bossini (University of Tokyo)
Yunshan Cao (UESTC, China)
Felix Casanova (nanoGUNE, Spain)
Ludo Cornelissen (University of Groningen (UG))
James A. Haigh (Hitachi Cambridge Laboratory)
Cecilia Holmqvist (Linnaeus University)
Dazhi Hou (Tohoku University)
Hans Huebl (Walther-Meißner-Institut)
Akashdeep Kamra (University of Konstanz)
Se Kwon Kim (UCLA)
Takahiro Moriyama (Kyoto University)
Kouki Nakata (University of Basel)
Juan-Carlos Rojas-Sanchez (CNRS, Lorraine)
Lucile Savary (MIT)
Ka Shen (Delft University of Technology, Delft)
So Takei (Queens College, New York)
Vitaliy Vasyuchka (TU – Kaiserslauten)
Mathias Weiler (Walther-Meißner-Institut)
Kei Yamamoto (JGU Mainz)