Spin Dynamics in the Dirac Systems

Mainz, Germany: June 6th – 9th 2017

Modern scientific research in condensed matter physics has been marked by a newly perceived role of the quantum nature of a spin in the most basic properties of materials. This breakthrough reflected itself in a new comprehension of fundamental physical symmetries, the concept of the topological classification of the quantum states properties, some of which are close to practical applications.

The aim of the SPICE workshop “Spin Dynamics in Dirac System” is to offer a platform for the knowledge exchange between diverse novel condensed matter domains such as topological insulators and superconductors, Weyl physics, topological Josephson junctions, spintronics in graphene, spin valves, spin-logic devices, quantum magnetism, spin lattices, frustrated magnets, spin liquids, non-trivial spin states, etc.

The day schedule of the 4-days workshop is split in 4 sections, four 20+5 minutes talks in a section. Each section devoted to a special topic will start with a tutorial given by a key speaker, and the different sections will be shuffled to create the maximal involvement of all participants into the unfamiliar topics.


Oleksiy Kashuba (Würzburg)
Björn Trauzettel (Würzburg)
Matthias Vojta (Dresden)

SPICE Co-Organizers

Jairo Sinova (JGU Mainz)
Matthias Sitte (JGU Mainz)

Invited Speakers

Dmitry Abanin (University of Geneva)
Yoichi Ando (Köln)
Alexander Balatsky (NORDITA, Sweden)
Sebastian Bergeret (CSIC/UPV )
Andrei Bernevig (Princeton)
Ralph Claessen (Würzburg)
Rui-Rui Du (Rice University)
Vladimir Fal’ko (Manchester)
Claudia Felser (MPI Dresden)
Philipp Gegenwart (Augsburg)
Joseph Maciejko (Alberta, Canada)
Charles Marcus (Niels Bohr)
Ivan Vera Marun (Manchester University)
Laurens W. Molenkamp (Würzburg)
Alberto Morpurgo (Geneva)
Shuichi Murakami (Tokyo)
Titus Neupert (Uni Zürich)
Nai Phuan Ong (Princeton)
Natasha Perkins (Minnesota)
Stephan Rachel (TU Dresden)
Stephan Roche (ICN2, Barcelona)
Leonid Rhokinson (Purdue University)
Shinsei Ryu (Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
Pascal Simon (Orsay)
Christoph Stampfer (Aachen)
Hidenori Takagi (MPI Stuttgart)
Bart van Wees (Groningen)
Ashvin Vishwanath (Harvard)
Ali Yazdani (Princeton)
Alfredo Levy Yeyati (Madrid)
Alexander Zyuzin (Basel)