Coherent order and transport in spin-active systems: Interplay between magnetism and superconductivity

Mainz, Germany: November 17th - 19th 2020

The electron spin and its quantum nature are fundamental to the phenomena of magnetism as well as superconductivity. The exchange interaction that causes magnetic ordering is intricately related to the Fermionic antisymmetry of the electron wavefunction and thus, the Pauli exclusion principle. Conventional superconductors are devoid of a spin supercurrent due to the singlet nature of the Cooper pairs that constitute the superconducting fluid. Despite the common denominators, the two phenomena have traditionally been considered mutually exclusive and are investigated by different communities.

Recently, coherent order and spin transport in magnetically ordered insulators has been demonstrated. This phenomenon of spinsuperfluidity is similar to superconductivity in several aspects. The development of devices based on superfluidity may, hence, profit from the profound knowledge of superconductivity. At the same time, magnet/superconductor hybrids hosting spinfull Cooper pairs have been engineered. This has opened prospects for superconducting spintronic devices as well as for the realization of unconventional superconducting states. Finally, the electron-electron attraction in many of the unconventional superconductors with exotic condensates is believed to be mediated by spin fluctuations. Therefore, these three seemingly disjoint fields are intricately relying on knowledge from each other and can best be tackled with an overview picture of all three. Providing this overview and a common discussion platform is a main goal of this workshop.

The workshop shall bring together experts and young researchers from three different communities: (i) Magnetism and spintronics, (ii) Mesoscopic superconductivity, and (iii) Strongly correlated systems/mechanisms underlying superconductivity. The purview includes coherent and incoherent magnetization dynamics in conjunction with the various spintronic effects that allow its manipulation and detection. Specific emphasis will be laid on the phenomena of spinsuperfluidity and magnon condensates due to their fundamental similarity with the superconducting state. The systems where the magnetic order interacts with conventional superconductors forms an exquisite field in itself which will benefit greatly from the different communities. Finally, the case of spin-fluctuations-mediated superconductivity, that is believed to underlie a wide range of unconventional superconductors, can best be discussed with the three communities present at the workshop.

This workshop is organized by SPICE as part of the Gutenberg International Conference Center (GICC) at Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (JGU). The GICC is funded through the German Research Foundation’s (DFG) university allowance in the Excellence Strategy program and aims at fostering JGU as a national and international research hub. By organizing regular conferences and workshops in fields of excellent JGU research, the GICC provides a platform to build interest networks and collaborations – to promote exchange and dialog among academics and research groups from all over the world.

If you are interested in this free online workshop, please click the button below, to register before November 10th, 2020. You will be contacted shortly after to receive all the information on the workshop.


Wolfgang Belzig, University of Konstanz, Germany
Katharina Franke, Freie Universitaet Berlin, Germany
Akashdeep Kamra, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

Invited Speakers

Irina Bobkova, Institute of Solid State Physics, Moscow
Arne Brataas, NTNU
Debanjan Chowdhury, Cornell University
Chiara Ciccarelli, Cambridge University
Rembert Duine, Utrecht University
Dimitri Efetov, ICFO Barcelona
Benedetta Flebus, University of Texas at Austen
Victor Galitski, University of Maryland
Sebastian Goennenwein, TU Dresden
Tero Heikkilä, University of Jyväskylä
Burkard Hillebrands, TU Kaiserslautern
Tomosato Hioki, Tokyo University
Harold Hwang, Stanford University
Jose Lado, Aalto University
Peter Liljeroth, Aalto University
Andrew Mackenzie, MPI for Chemical Physics of Solids
Jagadeesh Moodera, MIT
Alexandra Palacio Morales, Université Paris-Sud
Elke Scheer, University of Konstanz
So Takei, City University of New York
Yaroslav Tserkovnyak, UCLA
Bart van Wees, University of Groningen
Felix von Oppen, Free University of Berlin
Ali Yazdani, Princeton University