2D van der Waals Spin Systems

Mainz, Germany: August 4th - 7th 2020

Layered van der Waals (vdW) materials have provided new research avenues of condensed matter physics as well as applied physics since these materials at the mono-layer limit show novel electronic, optical and topologically-protected states, which do not arise in its bulk forms. In 2017, successful exfoliation of layered vdW ferromagnetic materials down to a few mono-layers has been demonstrated by two research groups independently. Since then the topic of 2D vdW magnets has been intensively studied to explore novel spintronic effects as well as control of magnetism by external stimuli such as electric field, current and mechanical strain. In addition to these, there are fundamental questions on the physics of 2D magnetism, to which this new class of materials can offer the truly 2D nature of magnetic lattices, due to the mechanical robustness of the crystals that we are able to routinely exfoliate.
This workshop will capture this world-wide wave of this emerging topic at the right time. We aim to assemble leading scientists from different research backgrounds into one place, yet working on magnetism and spin transport in 2D materials. This will offer a unique setting to introduce new results, discuss intensively as a whole, and identify most important problems to be addressed in the near and long-term future. This will also nurture young researchers for broadening their own horizons with world-leading scientists. By doing so we will be able to answer many of key research questions about the potential of this newly discovered group of 2D spin systems. For example, what is spin dynamics properties at the truly one-monolayer limit?; Can we apply the same spin transport theories to materials at the 2D limit? If not, how and why?; Are they any novel spintronic and magnonic phenomena within 2D-magnets and/or multi-layers with them?
This workshop will be overarching across different areas of modern condensed matter physics and materials science. The vast research field of 2D materials has been developed by non-magnetic materials such as graphene and transition metal dichalchogenites. Spintronics, on the other hands, has been exploiting the spin degree of freedom in non-2D systems. Hence, this topic and workshop is a perfect and timely topic to bring these seemingly-separated research fields together and identify key problems to solve as well as explore any new future opportunities.

If you are interested in this workshop, please click the button below, to send your application in the form of an abstract of your current work before June 15th, 2020. If your application is successful, we will contact you and send you a link for the registration. The workshop fee is 200 euros. Accommodation is not included.

Apply here


Goki Eda, National University of Singapore
Hidekazu Kurebayashi, University College London
Stephan Roche, ICN2

Invited Speakers

Ahmet Avsar, EPFL
Matthias Batzill, University of South Florida
Kenneth Burch, Boston University
Hyeonsik Cheong, Sogang University
Cheng Gong, Maryland University
Wei Han, Peking University
Young Hee Lee, Sungkyunkwan University
Garciá José Hugo, ICN2
Alexey Kaverzin, Groningen University
Phil King, University of St Andrews
Maciej Koperski, National University of Singapore
Efrat Lifshitz, Technion
Masaki Nakano, University of Tokyo
Tatiana Rappoport, UFRJ
Tobias Roedel, Nature
Jing Shi, UC Riverside
Juan Sierra, ICN2
Simran Singh, Carnegie Mellon University
David Soriano, Radboud University
Adam Wei Tsen, University of Waterloo
Ivan Verzhbitskiy, National University of Singapore
Kang Wang, UCLA
Jing Wang, Fudan University
Seonghoon Woo, IBM
Hyunsoo Yang, National University of Singapore
Jianting Ye, Groningen University